#8 Sacred Heart Will Dance in 2012 NCAA Bowling Tournament

#8 Sacred Heart Will Dance in 2012 NCAA Bowling Tournament

NCAA Selection Show and Official Release

Fairfield, CT – The #8 Sacred Heart Pioneers are one of eight teams to earn a bid to the 2012 NCAA Tournament, announced during today's selection show.  The Pioneers head to the big dance for the first time since 2009, narrowly missing the field each of the last two seasons.  The 2012 NCAA title will be contested at Freeway Lanes, the largest bowling center in the country, located in Wickliffe, Ohio.  The national championship field also consists of Arkansas State, Central Missouri, Fairleigh Dickinson, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Nebraska, Valparaiso, and Vanderbilt. 

SHU will head to the NCAA Tournament on fire, capturing the Northeast Conference Championship March 25 with an undefeated weekend, including two victories over national number one Fairleigh Dickinson. The Pioneers have been led by Jackie Carbonetto (Blauvelt, NY) and Nicole Trudell (Coventry, RI) in 2011-12 as the duo both earned All-NEC first-team accolades.

Sacred Heart (75-34) compiled a 16-15 record against teams heading to the 2012 NCAA Tournament, including a perfect 4-0 mark against defending national champions Maryland-Eastern Shore.  SHU peaked at number two in the national rankings earlier this season after opening the 2011-12 campaign 20-3.

The NCAA Bowling Championship will be contested April 12-14 with teams beginning play by bowling seven traditional team games against each other.  Squads will then be seeded into a double elimination bracket according to win-loss records during qualifying.  Bracket play will exclusively feature best-of-seven baker game matches until a national champion is decided.

This year's championship finals will air on ESPNU at 8:00 pm ET Saturday, April 14.  A replay will air on ESPN at 2:30 pm ET Sunday, April 15.

Sacred Heart 2011-12 Record
vs. NCAA Tournament Field
Maryland-Eastern Shore 4-0
Vanderbilt 4-1
Fairleigh Dickinson 4-4
Valparaiso 2-3
Central Missouri 2-4
Arkansas State 0-1
Nebraska 0-2