Pioneer Men's Lax Announces 2011 Team Awards; 2012 Captains Named

Pioneer Men's Lax Announces 2011 Team Awards; 2012 Captains Named

FAIRFIELD, Conn. - Freshman attacker Mike Mawdsley (Innisfil, Ont.) was named the Offensive MVP by the Sacred Heart men's lacrosse coaching staff, while senior goalie Zach Frank (Islip Terrace, N.Y.) was honored as the team's Defensive MVP.

Mawdsley, who made his way to the Northeast Conference All-Rookie Team, led the Pioneers in scoring with 38 points, including a team-high 28 goals.  He scored seven goals on the man-up and recorded seven hat tricks, three of which came against NEC competition.

In the cage, Frank started all 13 games of a 4-9 season. He played over 723 minutes and totaled 156 saves for a .523 save percentage.  Nationally, Frank averaged 12.00 saves per game, good enough for fourth in the country.  On seven occasions, he stopped 10 or more shots and made 15 or more saves three times.

Freshman long-stick midfielder Tim Caton (East Rochester, N.Y.) adds a team Rookie of the Year award to his postseason accolades.  Earlier this month, he was named Rookie of the Year by the NEC.  Caton led Sacred Heart with 14 caused turnovers and finished second in groundballs with 43.  On offense, he totaled seven points, including five goals scored.

Junior attack Tom Whitfield (Levittown, N.Y.) was honored with the Heart Award, while senior defenseman Loren Scott (Newton, Mass.) was chosen for the team's Coach's Award.  For Whitfield, this is his second consecutive Heart Award.  On the field, he scored three goals in limited action, two of which came in an 18-4 win over Wagner.  On defense, Scott excelled on the Pioneer backline, particularly as a member of the man-down defense.

Head coach Tom Mariano also announced the team captains for the 2012 season.  Frank, senior midfielder Billy Skelos (Lynbrook, N.Y.) and junior defender Rock Tate (Lantana, Fla.) return to serve as captains for a second season.  Junior midfielder Aaron Lupo (Schenectady, N.Y.) and sophomore attack Trevor Dauses (Glen Arm, Md.) will also serve as captains next season.