SHU Women's Cross Country and Volleyball Win NEC Sportsmanship Awards

SHU Women's Cross Country and Volleyball Win NEC Sportsmanship Awards

Dec. 26, 2009

The Northeast Conference (NEC) announced its fall Team Sportsmanship Award winners with the Sacred Heart women's cross country and volleyball teams earning this year's awards in their respective sports.

Instituted by league Presidents in 2008, the awards are designed to acknowledge the team in each conference sport that, in the opinion of its peers, most closely demonstrates good sportsmanship based on the NEC Principles of Sportsmanship and Standards of Conduct. Voting is conducted at the conclusion of each season by each team and head coach, who rank teams within the conference based on a set of criteria.

"One of the NEC's highest priorities is the commitment to good sportsmanship by our student-athletes and coaches," said Ron Ratner, NEC Interim Commissioner. "These teams represent the outstanding displays of good sportsmanship that are evident throughout the NEC on a regular basis."

Now in its 29th season, the Northeast Conference is an NCAA Division I collegiate athletic association consisting of 12 institutions of higher learning located throughout six states. Media coverage of the NEC extends to four of the largest markets in the United States - New York (#1), Pittsburgh (#23), Baltimore (#26), and Hartford/New Haven (#30). Founded in 1981 as the basketball-only ECAC Metro Conference, the NEC has grown to sponsor 22 championship sports for men and women and now enjoys automatic or play-in access to 13 different NCAA Championships. NEC member institutions include Central Connecticut State, Fairleigh Dickinson, Long Island, Monmouth, Mount St. Mary's, Quinnipiac, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart, St. Francis (NY), Saint Francis (PA) and Wagner. Bryant will become the NEC's 12th member upon completion of the NCAA Division I reclassification process in 2012. For more information on the NEC, visit

2009 NEC Fall Sportsmanship Award Release