Softball and Women's Track and Field Win NEC Sportsmanship Awards

Softball and Women's Track and Field Win NEC Sportsmanship Awards

The Northeast Conference announced the Sacred Heart Softball and Women's Track and Field teams as the winners of the 2013 Northeast Conference Spring Team Sportsmanship Award for their respective sports Wednesday afternoon. 

The award program, conceived by league Presidents, is designed to acknowledge the team in each conference sport that, in the opinion of its peers, most closely demonstrates good sportsmanship based on the NEC Principles of Sportsmanship and Standards of Conduct. Voting is conducted at the conclusion of each season by each team captain and head coach, who rank teams within the conference based on a predetermined set of criteria.

"The NEC Council of Presidents have been steadfast in their commitment to the ideals of good sportsmanship and integrity," said NEC Commissioner Noreen Morris. "To demonstrate that commitment our member institutions have adopted the NCAA's Respect campaign as their own, and truly value those who compete with respect and dignity at all times. The NEC Team Sportsmanship Awards program serves as an excellent forum to recognize those teams that extol the virtues good sportsmanship. Congratulations to our 2012-13 awards winners and to Saint Francis University for their fifth consecutive year with the most Team Sportsmanship Awards."

The Track and Field team finished fourth in this year's NEC Championship, where senior Alyssa Selmquist (Northford, Conn.) broke a record that stood since 2007's title meet in winning the 10,000 meter with a time of 36:05.40. Selmquist, along with junior Lindsay Aponte (West Islip, N.Y.) then went on to compete in the NCAA East Regional.

The Pioneer softball squad finished tenth in the conference with a 24-30 overall record and 5-15 in conference play. At the conclusion of her senior year, after playing through injury for most of the season, Pioneer ace Nicole Sidor (West Vancouver, British Columbia) earned the utility slot on the NFCA All-Region Team.