Pioneers Recognized by IWLCA for Academic Success

Pioneers Recognized by IWLCA for Academic Success

FAIRFIELD, CT (August 27, 2013) - The Sacred Heart women's lacrosse team was honored by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) for their academic achievements in 2013.  The Pioneers as a team were recognized as an IWLCA Academic Squad and graduate Morgan Merriman (Seattle, WA) was named to the IWLCA Honor Roll.

Merriman graduated with a degree in Computer Science and Graphic Design last spring.  She was also a four-year starter on the Sacred Heart women's basketball team.  Last spring, she received a Fulbright Scholarship to teach abroad after graduation and will be going to Albania to establish a girls basketball program, as well as teach introductory computer programming to boys and girls grades 5-9. 

The IWLCA honored 190 student-athletes from 68 different institutions with inclusion in the 2013 Academic Honor Roll. All student-athletes were nominated by their schools and have achieved at least junior status academically. Leading the way was IWLCA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Jill Maier from Hofstra University. Among the 190 student-athletes are 51 who were members of teams that advanced to the NCAA tournament, including one from national champion North Carolina. The 2013 Tewaaraton Recipient and IWLCA Midfielder of the Year Katie Schwarzmann was recognized with inclusion, and in addition, the student-athletes below were honored.

The IWLCA has recognized 173 schools for earning 2013 IWLCA Academic Squad honors for the 2013 season. Every school with a team GPA of 3.0 or higher earned Academic Squad honors. Of the teams that participated in the NCAA Championships this past spring, 34 were named Academic Squads.