New England Basketball Hall of Fame Elects Three Pioneers

New England Basketball Hall of Fame Elects Three Pioneers

FAIRFIELD, CT - The New England Basketball Hall of Fame announced that former Pioneers Amanda Pape '07 and Bill Bayno '85 along with head coach Dave Bike '69 will be inducted into their Class of 2013.  This year's induction will take place on Saturday, June 22nd at the DCU Center in Worcester, MA.

Amanda Pape and Coach Bike will be inducted in the Ronald S. Perry Category, honoring individuals who have achieved in two or more categories.  Pape will be recognized for her playing career at Sacred Heart and in high school at Trinity Catholic in Stamford.  Bike will be honored for his high school playing days at Notre Dame High School and in the Division II Coaching category.  Bike and his 1986 Division II National Championship Pioneers are already elected member of the NE Hall.  Bayno will be elected in the Division II Players category.

Pape played for the Pioneers from 2003-07 and led Sacred Heart to it's first Northeast Conference Championship and trip to NCAA Tournament.  Pape is the Pioneer's all-time leading scorer at 2,045 career points and also holds the school record with 362 career steals.  She was a two-time Northeast Conference scoring leader and won the NEC Player of the Year award in 2006, when she led the Pioneers to a school record 26 wins and NEC title.

During her career at Trinity Catholic she was a four-time All-FCIAC and All-State selection and led her team to a pair of state championships.  She was named the state's top female player as a senior in 2003 and ended her high school career with 2,429 points, still the highest total for any basketball player-male or female-in Stamford history.

Pape was inducted into the Connecticut Women's Basketball Hall of Fame and the Fairfield County Sports Hall of Fame in 2010.

Bayno played for head coach Dave Bike during the 1983-84 and 1984-85 seasons helping lead the Pioneers to a 51-14 (.785) mark over his two seasons.  Bayno played his freshman and sophomore seasons at the University of Massachusetts before transferring to SHU.  He helped lead the Pioneers to a pair of NCAA Division II Tournament berths including an Elite Eight appearance in 1984.

In 1984-85, Bayno garnered NABC third team All-American honors in addition to being named UPI All-New England and All-NECC.  He finished with a combined 1,047 points between his time at UMass and SHU.  During his senior season, he averaged 13.7 points per game and finished with 175 assists (5.5 pg).

Bayno was anmed to the Sacred Heart University Silver Anniversary Team in 1991.  After graduating from SHU, Bayno had assistant coaching stints at Seton Hall, Kansas, Baptist College and UMass before being named the head coach at UNLV in 1995.  He also had a head coaching sting at Loyola Marymount.  He is currently an assistant coach with the NBA's Minnesota Timberwolves.

Coach Bike just completed his 35th season on the bench at his alma mater.  Bike took over the Pioneer program in 1978 and led his teams to five NCAA Division II Regional Championships and four New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) titles.  During the 1980s, the Pioneers competed in a remarkable seven straight NCAA regional championship games and posted an impressive 173-51 - winning 77.2 percent of their games. 

Bike led the Pioneers to the NCAA Division II National title during the 1985-86 season. The 93-87 win over Southeast Missouri State in the championship game at the Springfield Civic Center just down the road from the Basketball Hall of Fame, was the first for a New England institution. Bike's charges, led by All-American guard Roger Younger and Tony Judkins, finished the campaign an impressive 30-4.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) selected Bike as its National Coach of the Year in 1985-86. His coaching brethren also voted him NECC Coach of the Year three times. In 1990, Bike was presented the Doggie Julian Award for outstanding service by the New England Basketball Coaches Association (NEBCA).

During the Pioneers Division II days, Bike coached six Pioneers who were named NABC All-Americans (Keith Bennett 1981, 1982, 1983; Rhonie Wright 1983; Roger Younger 1985, 1986; Bill Bayno 1985; Tony Judkins 1988, 1989; Darrin Robinson 1991, 1992) and three players who were named Regional Player of the Year (Keith Bennett 1982, 1983; Roger Younger 1986; Darrin Robinson 1993).

The New England Basketball Hall of Fame casts a wide net over the accomplishments of the region's renowned basketball participants, including players, coaches, administrators and officials at all levels.  The Hall of Fame recognizes the people whose excellence has contributed to the rich legacy of New England Basketball. 

For more information on the event and the New England Basketball Hall of Fame, click here.

Travel with the Pioneers
January 31, 2013 Travel with the Pioneers