Six Wrestlers Earn EIWA Academic Achievement Awards

Six Wrestlers Earn EIWA Academic Achievement Awards

EIWA Academic Achievement Award Winners

Six members of the 2017-18 Sacred Heart University wrestling team earned Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA) Academic Achievement Awards.

"I am proud of these young men for excelling in the classroom and on the mat," said Pioneers first-year head coach John Clark. "Their dedication, perseverance and success cement what it means to be a Pioneer wrestler."

Graduate student Alex Harnsberger (Hillsboro, Ore.) and seniors Mark Boyle (Rawley, Mass.), Timmy Johnson (Greenlawn, N.Y.), and Paul Klee (Santa Rosa, Calif.) concluded their careers in 2018 with the honor. Sophomre Joe Toci  (Manawkin, N.J.) sophomore and freshman Shaun Williams (Danbury, Conn.) were also recognized.

To earn EIWA Academic Achievement Awards a student-athlete must achieve a 3.2 GPA and participate in the EIWA Tournament or achieve a 3.0 GPA and earn an at-large berth to the NCAA Championships.