Tuttle Earns NEC Lacrosse Player Of The Year

Tuttle Earns NEC Lacrosse Player Of The Year

Sacred Heart University midfielder Max Tuttle capped his record-setting regular season by being named the Northeast Conference Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year, Wednesday night. The junior was also named the NEC Offensive Player of the Year at the tournament banquet held at Saint Joseph's University.

Tuttle earned First-Team All-NEC, and was joined on that squad by Pioneers attackman, Joe Saggese. Defender Matt Caracappa was also recognized, earning Second-Team All-NEC honors and newcomer Logan Liljeberg earned NEC All-Rookie Team honors.

Tuttle set the program's single-season scoring record, finishing with 62 points over 14 regular season games. He ranks first in the NEC and 18th nationally in points per game at 4.43 an outing. Tuttle, a Tewaaraton Award and USILA Player of the Year candidate, has scored 44 times, good for third in the NCAA at 3.21 goals per game. He has 10 hat tricks this season.

Saggese also surpassed the Pioneers single-season points record and enters tournament play with 60 on his resume. He ranks 20th in the NCAA at 4.29 points per game. Saggese has scored 39 goals, 10th in the nation, and leads the team with 21 assists.

Caracappa is part of a defense that ranks fourth in the nation at 9.43 caused turnovers per game. He is one of five players on the team with at least 13 caused turnovers. Caracappa has picked up 25 ground balls, helping SHU rank 10th in the nation in that category as a team at 31.43 per game.

Liljeberg finished his rookie campaign third on the team with 28 points. He netted 12 goals and ranked third on the team with his 16 assists. Liljeberg also added 24 ground balls and caused a turnover on the season.

The Pioneers will take on top-seeded Saint Joseph's in the opening semifinal of the NEC Tournament. The game will take place on Thursday at 1 p.m.