Men's LAX Announces Team Awards; 2013 Captains Named

Men's LAX Announces Team Awards; 2013 Captains Named

Fairfield, Conn.—The Sacred Heart men's lacrosse team announced sophomore attack Cody Marquis (Londonderry, N.H.) as the 2012 Offensive MVP, while goalkeeper Ryan Hughes (Bayport, N.Y.) was named the Defensive MVP. The coaching staff honored midfielder Joe Kemp (Troy, MI.) as Rookie of the Year. Steve Kontos (Danvers, Mass.) received the coveted Heart Award.

Marquis made his case for Offensive MVP with a 35-point sophomore season. In his second year with the Pioneers, the midfielder notched 17 goals and recorded 18 assists. In the final game of the season, he posted a career-high four goals, four assists and eight points against the in-state rival Quinnipiac Bobcats.

After getting his first start in the cage in the home-opener against Marist, Hughes went on a 11-game streak of double-digit saves. The two-time NEC Defensive Player of the Week set a new career-high stopping 16 in the 17-10 loss to Robert Morris and tied it on Senior Night in the 13-9 win over in-state rival Quinnipiac. Hughes finished his sophomore campaign with a 4-6 record. 

Rookie of the Year Kemp took the field in seven games this season in which he dished the ball for one assist and picked up three groundballs.

Face-off specialist Kontos earned the Heart Award after posting a 57.0 faceoff percentage (172-302) and scoring 2 goals this season. The junior scooped 72 groundballs in his 2012 campaign, while getting off six shots for a 33.3 shooting percentage.

Head Coach Tom Mariano also announce the captains for the 2013 season today. Kontos, along with to-be seniors attack Trevor Dauses (Glen Arm, MD.), midfielder Shane Foley (South Brunswick, N.H.) and defenseman Pat Fletcher (Silver Spring, MD.).