SHU Ice Hockey leads Atlantic Hockey with 18 Named to All-Academic Team

SHU Ice Hockey leads Atlantic Hockey with 18 Named to All-Academic Team

June 13, 2005

Complete Atlantic Hockey Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Sacred Heart men's ice hockey team placed a league-high 18 student-athletes on the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team announced on Monday.

A total of 105 student-athletes made the second edition of the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team for the 2004-05 academic year, an increase of over 20% from last season's total of 87 student-athletes.

Pioneer rookie forward Nick Kary earned the Atlantic Hockey Top Scholar-Athlete award, posting a league-best grade point average (GPA) of 3.94. A native of Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Kary majors in Finance at Sacred Heart, and participated in 25 games overall during 2004-05 for the Pioneers, collecting four goals and seven assists for eleven points.

Kary was one of three Pioneer forwards selected to the Atlantic Hockey Academic All-Star team (best GPA by position), as junior teammates Erik Roos and Brad Holland earned recognition for their academic performance. Canisius' Josh Zavitz along with Mercyhurst's Preston Briggs edged out the rest of the defensive corps as the top blueliners academically, while the Golden Griffins' Max Buetow joined Jamie Holden of Quinnipiac as the top goaltenders academically. Holden and Zavitz, both seniors, were repeat performers on the Academic All-Star team, having received recognition for the 2003-04 season. Collectively, the group of seven posted a GPA of 3.87.

Of the 105 student-athletes that were recognized as members of the All-Academic team this season, 59 were members of the 2003-04 squad, and 29 student-athletes were freshman. Sacred Heart had the most representation of student-athletes on the list with a total of 18 players, and each member of Atlantic Hockey either matched or surpassed last season's numbers. Canisius had the highest number of returning student-athletes this season on the All-Academic team, as 13 out of 15 skaters received recognition last season.

Notable members of the 2004-05 All-Academic team include Pierre-Luc O'Brien (Sacred Heart) and Bryan Worosz (Canisius), both of whom earned Atlantic Hockey All-Conference First Team recognition in 2004-05. Four of the six members of the Atlantic Hockey All-Conference Second Team were members of the All-Academic team this season, along with two All-Rookie team selections.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in each of the two academic periods during which his team was actively competing. Atlantic Hockey's Top Scholar Athlete is an award given annually to the player who achieves the highest grade point average over the course of the two academic semesters of competition.

The Atlantic Hockey Association arose when the nine current members joined together on June 30, 2003, to found a new Division-I men's ice hockey conference. The league includes American International College, Army, Bentley College, Canisius College, the University of Connecticut, the College of the Holy Cross, Mercyhurst College, Quinnipiac University, and Sacred Heart University.

Pioneers Shocked By AIC, 4-1
February 19, 2005 Pioneers Shocked By AIC, 4-1
Pioneers clipped by Minutemen
December 12, 2004 Pioneers clipped by Minutemen
Pioneers clipped by Colonials
November 27, 2004 Pioneers clipped by Colonials
Pioneers Tame Bobcats
November 24, 2004 Pioneers Tame Bobcats
Buckeyes Trump Pioneers
November 5, 2004 Buckeyes Trump Pioneers
Hrapchak re-sign's with Thunder
September 13, 2004 Hrapchak re-sign's with Thunder