Bowman Delights at annual Awards Banquet

Bowman Delights at annual Awards Banquet

May 6, 2005

TRUMBULL, CT - National Hockey League Coaching legend Scotty Bowman recanted tales of hockey past, present and future as he captivated the capacity crowd at the fourth-annual Sacred Heart men's ice hockey awards banquet. The banquet, which was held at the Trumbull Marriott on April 26th, also honored the respective award winners from the 2004-05 season.

Bowman spoke for nearly twenty minutes, telling stories from his long and illustrious career. His eloquent speech not only touched on hockey, but also on life. When he finished, he left the stage to a roaring standing ovation. Bowman joins Pat LaFontaine, Willie O'Ree and Paul Stewart as speakers at the event.

Prior to Bowman taking the podium, the 2004-05 award winners were announced. Senior Noel Henck (Long Beach, NY) was honored with the Peter Downey Award, which is given annually to the player who best exemplifies the vision of Downey, who was the first coach in the program's history. Pierre-Luc O'Brien (Nicolet, QC) was honored as the team MVP following an impressive sophomore campaign where he registered 35 points while scoring 13 power play goals, a mark which tied him for fourth in the nation.

Chris Connerty (Rayham, MA) picked up the Most Improved Player award while Andrew Billinghurst (Ft. Collins, CO) received the Community Service Award. Atlantic Hockey All-Rookie selection Alexandre Parent (Boisbraind, QC) received the team's Rookie of the Year award as well. Four Pioneers, one from each class, received Scholar Athlete awards, for having the highest GPA for member of the freshman, sophomore, junior and senior classes. Nick Kary (Wetaskiwin, AB), Todd Spencer (Brentwood, NH), Brad Holland (Northville, MI) and Henck were the respective winners.

After the presentation of awards and the words of wisdom from Bowman, the stage was turned over for a charity auction and raffle with a wide variety of memorabilia available, including signed jerseys, sticks, photographs and tickets.

JV Most Valuable Player - Joe Sanginario, Bryan Fogle

Scholar Athlete Awards - Nick Kary (Fr.), Todd Spencer (So.), Brad Holland (Jr.), Noel Henck (Sr.)

Rookie of the Year - Alexandre Parent

Community Service Award - Andrew Billinghurst

Most Improved Player - Chris Connerty

Most Valuable Player - Pierre-Luc O'Brien

Peter Downey Award - Noel Henck

Pioneers Shocked By AIC, 4-1
February 19, 2005 Pioneers Shocked By AIC, 4-1
Pioneers clipped by Minutemen
December 12, 2004 Pioneers clipped by Minutemen
Pioneers clipped by Colonials
November 27, 2004 Pioneers clipped by Colonials
Pioneers Tame Bobcats
November 24, 2004 Pioneers Tame Bobcats
Buckeyes Trump Pioneers
November 5, 2004 Buckeyes Trump Pioneers
Hrapchak re-sign's with Thunder
September 13, 2004 Hrapchak re-sign's with Thunder