Eighteen Pioneers Named To Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team

Eighteen Pioneers Named To Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team

FAIRFIELD, Conn. – The Sacred Heart men's hockey team had 18 student-athletes named to the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team on Monday. Three Pioneers earned their second selections to the All-Academic Team.

Junior goaltender Andrew Bodnarchuk (Saskatoon, Sask.) and sophomores Jake Lynes (Ellicott City, Md.) and Josh Phillips (Toronto, Ont.) became two-time All-Academic honorees on Monday. Graduating seniors Neil Fachini (East Hampton, Conn.) and Chad Filteau (Regina, Sask.) earned their first All-Academic honors, as did Alex Vazzano (Trumbull, Conn.) and Will Rayner (Needham, Mass.).

Eleven freshman earned All-Academic honors, including Atlantic Hockey Rookie of the Year Justin Danforth (Oshawa, Ont.) and All-Rookie Team pick Mitch Nylen (Lawrenceville, Ga.). Jeff Carroll (Kingston, Ont.), Erlich Doerksen (Toronto, Ont.), Coltyn Hansen (South Delta, B.C.), David Iacono (Newmarket, Ont.), Evan Jasper (Whitby, Ont.), Daniel Lisi (King City, Ont.), Jordan Minello (Sweaburg, Ont.), Mitch Rogge (Eden Prairie, Minn.), and Tyler Shaw (Sudbury, Ont.) also were named to the All-Academic Team.

Student-Athletes must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in all of the academic semesters during which their team is actively competing to qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team. The league had 202 student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team, it's highest number in league history. 

Pioneers Blanked By RIT 4-0
November 30, 2013 Pioneers Blanked By RIT 4-0