Saptak Talwar Claims NEC Men’s Golf Individual Championship in Playoff

Saptak Talwar Claims NEC Men’s Golf Individual Championship in Playoff

DAYTONA BEACH, Fl.— Freshman Saptak Talwar of the Sacred Heart University men's golf team used a five-under 67 to vault atop the leaderboard before winning the 2018 Northeast Conference Individual Championship with a playoff victory over CCSU's Anthony Sebastianelli.

SHU carded the second lowest round of the tournament at 292 as a team in Sunday's final round to claim third place at the Northeast Conference Championship at LPGA International Hills Course.

Talwar became the fourth Pioneer to earn the NEC Individual title, the first since Peter Ballo back in 2014. The rookie recorded a career-low round of five-under 67 with seven birdies in the final round to take the low score of 216 into the clubhouse. Three straight bogeys by Sebastianelli to end the tournament forced the deciding playoff. Talwar secured the victory sinking a two-foot putt for par on the par-four 18th hole. 

Senior Matt Shubley carded a second straight round of two-over 74 to close out his final NEC Championship. He picked up two birdies on the day on par-five 2nd and 14th holes as he finished with a final score of +15 to finish 16th overall. Junior Alex Manner moved up three spots on the leaderboard with a final round of two-over 74. Manner recorded three birdies on the final day and finished 16-over par for the tournament to tie for 17th place.

Senior Connor Cunningham recorded a five-over 77 in the third round, finishing the tournament 18-over par to sit in a tie for 20th place. Fellow senior Tom D'Andrea carded a final round of seven-over 77 to finish the event tied for 31st at 26-over par to close out the Pioneers scoring group. 

CCSU claimed the team title with the wire-to-wire victory, finishing the tournament with a 25-over, 889 in three rounds. Robert Morris stayed in second at 37-over par, 901 as the Pioneers rounded out the top three with a score of 48-over 912. SHU held off FDU by three strokes for the third-place spot.

As the individual conference champion, Talwar qualified for the 2018 NCAA Men's Golf Championships. The 2018 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship Selection Show will be televised on the Golf Channel on Wednesday, May 2 at 6:00 p.m. for the six regional sites that will be played from May 14-16.

2018 NEC Championship Individual Results (par 72)

T1 Saptak Talwar 74-75-67—216 (E)*

16 Matt Shubley 83-74-74—231 (+15)

T17 Alex Manner 82-76-74—232 (+16)

T20 Connor Cunningham 78-79-77—234 (+18)

T31 Tom D'Andrea 82-81-77—240 (+24)

*Individual title on the playoff hole, par-four 18th