Josh Salah and Leo Garcia Named All-New England

Josh Salah and Leo Garcia Named All-New England

FAIRFIELD, CT (July 24, 2012) - Sacred Heart golfers Leopoldo Garcia (Guaynabo, Puerto Rico) and Joshua Salah (Gloucester, MA) were named to the 2012 All-New England team, chosen by the New England Division I golf coaches. 

Garcia, a 2012 graduate of Sacred Heart, capped off his Pioneer career winning the 2012 Northeast Conference individual championship and advancing to the NCAA Championship Regional in Greensboro, NC.  Garcia took first place honors at the conference tournament after shooting a three day score of 219 (72-72-75). He also posted two other top-10 finishes throughout the season, including a second place finish at the Lonnie Barton Invitational (75-73-148) and a share of sixth at the UConn Invitational. 

Salah continues to pile up the honors after a stellar junior season on links, adding All-New England honors to his 2012 NEC Player of the Year and 2012 NEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.   He started of the year strong, posting a pair of second place finishes at the Central Connecticut Fall Invitational (67-73=142) and the Hartford Hawk Invitational (70-71-72=213), which earned him NEC Golfer of the Month honors in September. He followed up these performances with solid rounds at Yale McDonald Cup (72-73=145) and a season-low round of 67 at the UCONN Invitational. In the spring the Massachusetts native posted a fourth place finish at the Lonnie Barton Invitational (77-75=152) and fell into the ninth place slot at the New England Championship where he shot a 152 at the two day tournament. His best performance of the spring occurred at the Rhody Invitational where he took home top-honors after inking scores of 71-73 for a two-day total of 144. Salah placed 25th overall at the NEC Championship to help the Pioneers to a tie for second overall. He also collects first-team All-Conference honors for the first time in his career.

New England Division I Golf Coaches 2012 Awards

Team of the Year:  Dartmouth College

Player of the Year:  Peter Williamson, Dartmouth

Rookie of the Year:  Andy Mai, Boston College

Coach of the Year:  Richard Parker, Dartmouth College

All-Rookie Team

Jared Adams, University of Rhode Island

Will Davenport, Yale University

Wally Gonzalez, Hartford University

Andy Mai, Boston College

Justin Miller, Brown University

All-New England Team

Sam Bernstein, Yale University

Jeb Buchannan, University of Connecticut

Branden Chicorka, University of Rhode Island

Leo Garcia, Sacred Heart University

Tony Grillo, Harvard University

Kevin Josephson, Central Connecticut State University

James Pleat, Dartmouth College

Josh Salah, Sacred Heart University

Matt Smith, Hartford University

Peter Williamson, Dartmouth College