Hunt Seat Wins Regional Championship

Hunt Seat Wins Regional Championship
GALES FERRY, Conn.- Sacred Heart University Hunt Seat won the Regional Championship on Saturday with 40 points, ahead of second place Uconn with 32. The Hunt Seat squad finishes the regular season as the High Point Team for the fifth out of the last six seasons. 
Team Results:
SHU earns High Point Team with 40 points
UCONN is Reserve High Point Team with 32 points
Host Connecticut College is 3rd with 31, Wesleyan 26 points in 4th, Trinity: 25, Fairfield: 24, CCSU: 16, Post: 14, Yale: 10
Cariann Johnson wins Reserve High Point Rider and Team MVP
Johnson is also the second SHU Hunt Seat rider in the past two seasons to win the regular season Cacchione Cup qualifier and will represent Zone 1 Region 5 at the IHSA Zone Championship. The top three of five Cacchione Cup riders from each Zone will advance to the IHSA National Championship.
Hunt Seat at Connecticut College:
Cariann Johnson wins Open Fences Section A
Gabriella Sorrentino places 4th in Open Fences Section B
Devon Conley places 2nd in Open Fences Section C
Emery Smith and Isabel Rodriguez place 2nd and 3rd in Intermediate Fences Section A
Emily Spellman wins Intermediate Fences Section B
Olivia Marlow places 5th in Open Flat Section A and qualifies for Regionals
Isabel Rodriguez places 4th in Intermediate Flat Section A
Emery Smith places 3rd in Intermediate Flat Section B
Michaela Fritsch wins Novice Fences Section A and Cecelia Mathon places 6th
Anne Bergere places 4th in Novice Fences Section B
Valerie Stein wins Cross Rails Section A
Gina Gramarossa wins Novice Flat Section A
Kassandra Bayles places 5th in Novice Flat Section B
Cecelia Mathon places 3rd in Novice Flat Section C
Olivia Zwernemann wins Beginner Walk Trot Canter Section A
Emma Antignani wins Beginner Walk Trot Canter Section B
Rebecca Dion places 5th in Walk Trot Section A
Sara Chow places 2nd in Walk Trot Section B
The Pioneers advance to the Zone Championship April 7 at Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Mass. Five teams will compete at each Zone Championship with the top two advancing to Nationals.