SHU Captures Record Setting Seventh NEC Commissioner's Cup

SHU Captures Record Setting Seventh NEC Commissioner's Cup

NEC Commissioner Cup Standings

For a record seventh time, and the second consecutive year, the Sacred Heart University Department of Athletics has captured the Northeast Conference Brenda Weare Commissioner's Cup, announced by the conference office today.  The Pioneers accumulated 219.56 points, the only department to surpass the 200-point barrier.

SHU also captured a third straight, and record 10th, Joan Martin Commissioner's Cup for excellence in women's athletics, accumulating 138.50 points. That is the highest point total in the past five seasons. The Pioneers placed third in the men's cup standings with 81.06 points.

"The Commissioner's Cup is a testament to the overall excellence of a Department of Athletics," said Executive Director of Athletics Bobby Valentine.  "Winning this honor in back-to-back years, and the women's cup for a third straight season, is validation of the hard work and dedication of our student-athletes, coaches and administrators. This award is shared by the entire Sacred Heart community and staff, for it is with their continued support that these athletic are achievements possible."

All 21 programs that had postseason NEC Tournaments qualified for those tournaments during the 2016-17 campaign. The Pioneers captured three postseason championships: women's indoor track & field, women's outdoor track & field, and women's golf, and two regular season championships: women's volleyball and women's bowling, to finish 20 points clear of overall cup runner-up Saint Francis University. On the men's side, baseball, cross country and indoor track and field all had runner-up finishes in their respective championships.


2016-17 Honors & Awards

  • Fourth straight NEC Women's Indoor Track and Field Championship
  • Third straight NEC Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championship
  • First-ever NEC Women's Golf Championship
  • 59 All-NEC Team Selections
  • Regular Season NEC Women's Volleyball Champions
  • Regular Season NEC Bowling Champions
  • Connor Rog - Men's Cross Country Indvidual Champion and Most Outstanding Performer
  • Sarah Krufka – Volleyball Player of the Year
  • Ana Gonzalez – Libero of the Year
  • Amanda Nardiello – Bowler of the Year
  • Katherine Haines – NEC WBB Most Improved Player of the Year
  • Trevor Guerrera – NEC Men's Indoor Track Most Outstanding Track Performer (Distance)
  • Jennifer Hahne – NEC Women's Indoor Track Most Outstanding Track Performer (Distance)
  • Ryan O'Donoghue – NEC MLAX Defensive Player of the Year
  • Mareena Dimilia – NEC Women's Outdoor Track Co-Most Outstanding Field Performer (Throws)
  • Ellen Nighbor – NEC Women's Golf Individual Champion & Player of the Year
  • Rob Machan – Volleyball Coach of the Year
  • Becky Kregling – NEC Bowling Coach of the Year
  • Christian Morrison – NEC Women's Indoor Track Coaching Staff of the Year
  • Matt McGreevy – NEC Women's Golf Coach of the Year