Pioneer Women's Lacrosse Honored by IWLCA for Academic Success

Sept. 1, 2009

2009 IWLCA Academic Squads

The two-time Northeast Conference Champion Sacred Heart women's lacrosse team was named a 2009 Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association Academic Squad. this is the fifth-straight season SHU has made the IWLCA's academic squad list. The Pioneers were one of six Northeast Conference schools honored by the IWLCA for having a collective GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The IWLCA has announced that 49 institutions in Division I have earned Academic Squad honors, including three that have been named Merit Squads. Teams that have a collective GPA of 3.0 or greater earn the distinction of Academic Squad; the squads with the three highest team GPAs earned the honor of being named a Merit Squad. Wagner led all schools with a team GPA of 3.53 and was named a Merit Squad, as were Stanford and Hofstra. National Champion Northwestern earned Academic Squad honors, as did national semifinalists Maryland and Penn. Eleven of the 16 schools that played in the NCAA Championships were named Academic Squads.