SHU's Tony Tanzi Drafted by Boston in MLL Collegiate Draft

SHU's Tony Tanzi Drafted by Boston in MLL Collegiate Draft

May 29, 2008

2008 MLL Collegiate Draft Results

Sacred Heart senior midfielder Tony Tanzi (Mahopac, NY) was selected by the Boston Cannons in the fifth round of the 2008 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft on Wednesday night. The 46th player selected, Tanzi is the first Sacred Heart player in school history to be drafted into the MLL. It was also announced that Tanzi was named a Scholar All-American by the United States Iintercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).

"As a program we are thrilled for Tony," stated head coach Tom Mariano. "Tony deserves it. He has a tremedous work ethic and leadership skills and exeplifies everything we look for in a Sacred Heart lacrosse player."

A two-time team captain, Tanzi put the finishing touches on a stellar career by earning a nod on the Turfer Athletic NEILA All-New England second team. He finished 2008 by scoring 11 goals with five assists for 16 points and added 19 grounders and was eight of 14 on face-offs. Tanzi was the recipient of the team's "Heart Award", given each season to the Pioneer who puts forth maximum effort every day both on and off the field. For his career, Tanzi appeared in 52 games over his four years at Sacred Heart. He scored 42 goals with 20 assists for 62 career points. He finished with 111 career ground balls.

Tanzi represnted the Pioneers in the USILA North-South Senior All-Star Game last Friday, May 23rd. To be eligible to be selected as Scholar All-American, student-athletes must be a Division I, II, or III All-American or a member of a North-South All-Star team (although special circumstances permit the committee to waive this requirement, and all-conference players will be strongly considered), meet the academic criteria as established by the committee and be a student with senior year academic standing and a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale), have completed the Scholar All-America application by the established deadline, and have behaved both on and off the field in a manner that has brought credit to himself, his institution, and to collegiate lacrosse.

Major League Lacrosse was successfully launched in June 2001 and today conisists of 10 teams - Boston Cannons, Long Island Lizards, New Jersey Pride, Philadelphia Barrage, Rochester Rattlers, Washington Bayhawks, Chicago Machine, Denver Outlaws, Los Angeles Riptide and San Francisco Dragons. For more information visit