Kary Named Atlantic Hockey Top Scholar-Athlete

Kary Named Atlantic Hockey Top Scholar-Athlete

June 21, 2007

FAIRFIELD, CT - Junior forward Nick Kary (Wetaskiwin, Alberta) became the first two-time Atlantic Hockey Scholar Athlete of the Year when the fourth annual awards were named on Wednesday. Kary was named along with Bryce Hollweg of Army and Matt Fennell of Mercyhurst. All three were also named to the Academic All-Star Team by posting the highest GPA at their respective positions.

For Kary, this is his third time posting one of the three top GPA's at the forward position, while Hollweg was also a member of last year's Academic All-Star Team. Sacred Heart senior goalie Jason Smith (Lambert, Quebec) was also named to the All-Star team. Joining Kary and Hollweg on the frontline is sophomore Mike Phillipich (Air Force). Fellow freshman David Cianfrini (Canisius) joins Fennell on the blueline. Freshman Andrew Loewen (Canisius) was also tabbed as an All-Star netminder.

A new standard was set in the classroom for the student-athletes of Atlantic Hockey with 124 earning a spot on the All-Academic Team, including 14 from the Pioneers. The 124 student-athletes eclipses the mark of 105 that were honored after the 2004-05 season.

Of the 124 student-athletes that were recognized as member of the All-Academic Team this season, 49 were members of the 2005-06 squad, and 36 were freshman. Bentley leads the list with 17 players honored, while Sacred Heart and Army had the highest number of returning student-athletes this season on the All-Academic Team with nine apiece.

Of the 18 players that earned All-Conference honors this past season, half of them (9) were also named to the All-Academic Team. Leading the way is SHU senior forward Pierre-Luc O'Brien (Nicolet, Quebec). O'Brien, a three-time All-Conference nominee, is a four-time All-Academic performer. Smith and junior defenseman Scott Marchesi (S. Portland, ME) have been honored three times for their academic prowess.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in all of the academic periods during which his team was actively competing. Atlantic Hockey's Top Scholar Athlete is an award given annually to the player or players who achieves the highest grade point average over the course of the academic semesters of competition.

Sacred Heart All-Academic Team Honorees: Stefan Drew * (So, G, Bugald, MAN), Louis Gentile (Sr, F, Beverly, MA), Matt Gordon (Fr, F, Lynnfield, MA), Dave Jarman (Fr, F, Toronto, ONT), Nick Kary # (Jr, F, Wetaskiwin, ALB), Corey Laurysen (Fr, D, Ottawa, ONT), Scott Marchesi # (Jr, D, South Portland, ME), Pierre-Luc O'Brien $ (Sr, F, Nicolet, QUE), Alexandre Parent # (Jr, F, Boisbriand, QUE), Matt Richards (So, F, Ridgefield, CT), Drew Sanders $ (Sr, F, Modesto, CA), Jason Smith # (Sr, F, St. Lambert, QUE), Todd Spencer $ (Sr, D, Brentwood, NH), Charles Veilleux $ (Sr, D, Quebec City, QUE).

Pioneers Fall to UConn, 4-1
February 4, 2007 Pioneers Fall to UConn, 4-1
Pioneers Hold Off AIC, 3-1
January 9, 2007 Pioneers Hold Off AIC, 3-1
Pioneers Upset Cornell, 2-1
January 6, 2007 Pioneers Upset Cornell, 2-1
Pioneers Vist RPI Friday Night
November 16, 2006 Pioneers Vist RPI Friday Night