O'Brien, Trapp Nominated for Hobey Baker Award, Fans to Vote

O'Brien, Trapp Nominated for Hobey Baker Award, Fans to Vote

Jan. 9, 2007

Fairfield, CT - Senior Pierre-Luc O'Brien (Nicolet, QC) and sophomore Bear Trapp (Regina, SK) have been nominated for the Hobey Baker Award, presented to the most outstanding player in college hockey. Fans now have the opportunity to select their favorite candidate for the list of top ten finalists on the new Hobey Baker Award website, www.hobeybaker.com.

Together O'Brien and Trapp have led the Pioneers to first place in the Atlantic Hockey standings. O'Brien leads the team in scoring with 30 points, including 12 goals and 18 assists. He is third in Atlantic Hockey in scoring, second in goals and third in assists. O'Brien is tied for eighth in the nation in points per game. After posting 23 points in the month November, O'Brien was named the HCA/CSTV National Player of the Month. O'Brien has been named the AHA player of the week twice this season, and is on the verge of breaking several school records for career scoring.

Trapp has built on a rookie season in which he won Atlantic Hockey rookie of the year honors with a strong sophomore season. He currently is second on the team with nine goals and 17 assists for 26 total points. Those totals place him fourth in the league in scoring and assists.

Voting in phase one will end on March 4. Fans may vote for one candidate at a time, but can vote multiple times per day. The standings will run concurrently on the Hobey Baker website. Phase two will begin on March 15 after the top ten finalists have been announced. To vote, visit the Vote For Hobey link on the Hobey Baker website, or just click on the Vote For Hobey button on the site's homepage.

After the first phase of voting is completed, the top ten advances to the Selection Committee, which decides the eventual winner from the top ten. This committee is composed of print media, electronic media, NHL scouts, and the American Hockey Coaches Association (college hockey coaches). Its members are spread out among the hockey-playing section of the United States. The committee also includes an individual from USA Hockey. The winner of the award will be announced April 6, 2007 at the NCAA Frozen Four in St. Louis, MO.

The Pioneers (12-4-4, 9-2-4) currently sit alone in first place of the Atlantic Hockey standings. SHU will face American International Tuesday at 7:00 pm and host RIT in a two game series this weekend at Milford Ice Pavilion.

Pioneers Fall to UConn, 4-1
February 4, 2007 Pioneers Fall to UConn, 4-1
Pioneers Hold Off AIC, 3-1
January 9, 2007 Pioneers Hold Off AIC, 3-1
Pioneers Upset Cornell, 2-1
January 6, 2007 Pioneers Upset Cornell, 2-1
Pioneers Vist RPI Friday Night
November 16, 2006 Pioneers Vist RPI Friday Night